Home > Social Media > Facebook Admin Email Choices

Facebook Admin Email Choices

In my last post I showed how to add an admin to a Facebook page. I also promised to write a blog on how to change your Facebook Admin email settings. Facebook has made several changes to pages recently and one of those was to include an email service to let admins know whats happening on their page. Every time some posts on the wall or comments on a post you’ll get an email. This is a service long sot by page admins. However, if you are the admin for multiple pages or have a very active page you may find out inbox quickly filled with these emails. Facebook’s email notification is simply opt-in or opt-out. What they need is more options, like grouping emails, and what kinds of information you want in the first place. Luckily a development company has put together the site www.hyperalerts.no which offers those choices.

Step 1

You’ll want to turn off the Facebook notifications first. (Even if you don’t choose to do Hyper Alerts you can still simply turn off the Facebook notifications.)

When you are logged in to Facebook and on the page where you are an admin choose Edit Page in the upper right corner.

Then choose Your Settings in the upper left. From there you will see two options. The second option is your Email Notifications. Uncheck the box and then choose Save Changes.

Step 2

Go to www.hyperalerts.no and register for an account. After setting up your account you’ll be sent to a pgae where you can begin adding alerts. There are two ways to add alerts: by URL or by Facebook User. To add by Facebook User you have to add the Hyper Alerts App to your personal page. I prefer to do it by URL.

Click on the Add Alert by URL button. You will need the URL or web address of your page. This may be a custom URL that you have set or it may be a series of numbers. Copy the URL and enter it into box that will pop-up on the Hyper Alerts page.

Step 3

Choose your settings. Hyper alerts allows you to choose when and how often (daily, weekly, hourly) you get email about page activities. So you can set them to come just at the time your normally check your email. You can also choose what kind of information you’d like to receive. Posts to your wall, comment on your posts, and copies of your own content are your three choices. As you can see Hyper Alerts is much more flexible that Facebook Email Notifications.

There is a separate URL for each page that you admin, and you will have to repeat this process for each of them.

After your alerts are set you will get an email at the appointed time where ever there has been the kind of activity you’ve choosen on your page. Each page will receive there own email.

Your email will look something like this.

Tags: , , ,
  1. Abhijit Sen
    August 5, 2011 at 3:16 am

    i cannot send frnd’s request..plz help me

    • August 5, 2011 at 7:58 am

      I’m sorry you are unable to send friend requests. I am unfamiliar with this type of problem you best bet you be to use the Facebook help center. A place to start might be “I can’t add a friend”

  2. August 11, 2011 at 10:03 am

    Hi there, I’m wondering if someone could please help me? I keep getting an email at the top of my facebook page everytime I sign in! It’s telling me that my email address is no longer valid and that I have to change my email address. I’m sorry to say, but I’ve been a member of facebook since it became public to the world. I would like to know if this email is someone who is trying to hack into my account? Or is this a genuine request from facebook telling me the truth? I don’t want to click on any link because I know a lot of facebook accounts have been hacked into and I certainly don’t want that happening to mine. Can someone please tell me why this is happening? I’ve had the email for over 6 months, so I’m thinking if this was from a facebook admin, surely my account would’ve been de-activited by now!!!! Need help on this one please? I don’t want my account being hacked thank you very much. It’s now telling me that they can’t reach me by email! Thank you.

    • August 11, 2011 at 11:15 am

      Facebook has a section about this in their Help Center which you can find here: It says my email address is invalid.

      Basically if your email address begins with some generic (like “info”) they think you’re a business. Change it to a personal address and you should be fine.

      If the message comes while you are on Facebook and is in the Facebook window (not a pop-up) you should be fine clicking on the link. Before you enter any information though check to make sure the web address begins with http://www.facebook.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

