Home > Social Media > New Facebook Security Feature

New Facebook Security Feature

This week Facebook launched two new security features. Because Mark Zuckerberg, the founder of Facebook got his account hacked. These features provide more security to people who login through wireless or public networks.

The new security features are easy to turn on. Go to Account, on the upper right corner of your Facebook page -> Choose Account Settings from the drop down menu -> Scroll Down to Account Security -> Put a check mark next to Secure Browsing (https) -> Click Save

For additional security put another check next to When a new computer or mobile device logs into this account: send me an email.

Next time you log into Facebook you’ll see the screen below. Give the computer you’re logging in with a name; Home, Work, Library, Netbook, Cookie Monster, anything. Check Don’t ask me again from this computer if it’s not a public computer. When you click Continue you’ll go to your regular Facebook Newsfeed.

Then you’ll get an email that looks like this.

You’ll recieve an email from Facebook every time a new computer logs into your account. This will give you a warning if an unauthorized log-in occurs. Follow the link in the email to protect your account.

The downside to the new features is that not all of your apps and games, including Farmville, will work with HTTPS browsing turned on. Game developers were alerted to the change are are working to make their apps work within the new security features. For now turn off HTTPS Browsing when you’re at home and want to play games, and turn it back on when you’re on the road.

  1. Margarita Gimena Rones
    June 4, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    Hi, I am using this security feature in my fb account. Last night my browser was cached and all were deleted. Sadly right now I cant access my account because fb cant recognize the computer that I am using. My account has no phone linked to it because my husband linked my daughters account to verify my daughters account. Now i cant login because of the said problem. Is there any other way to access my account again? I dont know where to contact fb? Is there any way to contact them an email address? Thanks. mgr

  2. June 5, 2011 at 8:31 am

    Margarita I’ve never heard of this problem before. There are a couple of things you can try. First try logging in from another computer, and change your settings there.

    Are you using login approvals? Not just HTTPS browsing.

    Look here http://www.facebook.com/help/new/?faq=148233965247823 and here http://www.facebook.com/help/new/?faq=132399463501611 for more help.

    You can also find out about contacting Facebook here http://www.facebook.com/help/new/?page=835 You do not have to be signed-in to Fb to go to this page. But it is tricky to get to a page where you can actually contact them. If you are using mobile you can go here http://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=wap_login_problems.

    Please let me know if you find a solution so I can help others if this comes up again.

  3. Margarita Gimena Rones
    June 13, 2011 at 12:42 am

    Hi, in regards to my account in fb yes I’m using login approvals. The problem was my account was not linked to my phone because my husband used my mobile phone to link to my daughters account.
    I resolved my problem the next day did some researching. A lot of people also encountered the same problem. The only way to solve it was change the password then FB will send you an email to change password. Then after you have changed it they will send you another email saying: If you did not change your password, your account may have been the victim of a phishing scam. Please follow the link to regain control over your account:
    so just clicked the link given then I regained my account again.
    There are a lot of people encountering the same problem its a good thing that I don’t give up researching for answers. I hope this could help other people having the same problem as I did. And one more thing it is much better to add another email linked to your account and remember the security question. It would really be useful in the future.

  4. Margarita Gimena Rones
    June 13, 2011 at 12:52 am

    Hers a link that helped me a lot it is the discussion page on facebook security. This is where I found the answers to my problem http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?uid=31987371885&topic=17901#topic_top I hope that this could help-mgr

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

