Home > Social Media > Q&A: Facebook Birthdays

Q&A: Facebook Birthdays

I promised some posts on a Question & Answer basis. I’m still looking for more of your social media questions. Leave me a comment or shoot me a line at my Facebook or Twitter page.

Question: “Do I have to give Facebook my birthday when I sign up? I feel like its an invasion of my privacy, and I don’t want everyone knowing my birthday.”

Answer: You must give a birthday when registering for Facebook. You can however choose to hide your birthday after you have signed-up.

Step 1

Go to your profile. Under your profile picture click Edit My Profile.

 

Step 2

On the drop down menu to the right of your birthday choose “Don’t show my birthday in my profile.” Then click Save Changes at the bottom of the page.

“Note that if you hide your birthday completely, your friends will not receive reminders when it’s approaching. If you still want them to receive these reminders, you will need to at least make the month and day visible.” Facebook Help Center

Your birthday will not show up on your profile now, and your friends will not be able to see it. You may change this at anytime by coming back to the Edit screen and making a new selection.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. March 3, 2011 at 1:16 pm

Leave a Reply

